top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureeliyambl

From Pre-Departure to Arrival; Beginning my Fulbright in South Korea

안녕하세요, 대한민국 도착했어요! Hello, I have arrived in South Korea.


*FYI, everything written here does not represent Fulbright, Fulbright Korea, and the Korean-American Educational Commission. These are my own thoughts, ideas, and opinions*


One of my goals for the year is to keep a blog of my experiences here in Korea as well as practice writing more informally. So here we go.


At SFO before leaving for Korea

Following a lovely 12-hour flight on Korean Air from San Francisco International Airport and another 15-hours of waiting for quarantine release by the South Korean government (plus a few days of sleeping), I am comfortably sitting in a cafe drinking a matcha latte in Incheon, waiting to begin my journey as a student researcher at the Korean Institute of Ocean Science and Technology in Yong-do.


So, how did I find myself drinking this delectable matcha latte on a rainy day in Incheon, South Korea? My story begins a year ago in Rhode Island.


In May 2020, I was practicing for an interview with the Switzer Fellowship. I invited multiple folks from the University of Rhode Island to help me out. Following a practice session, Kathleen Maher, the Director for the Office of National Fellowships & Academic Opportunities, encourage me to apply for the Fulbright Open Research Award. She said I would be an excellent candidate for Fulbright Korea due to my long personal and academic interests in South Korea. I did not believe her. To my knowledge, only geniuses get Fulbright's, and I am no genius. But whatever, it did not hurt to try!


Fortunately, Kathleen led me through the entire application process of reviewing and re-reviewing my essays, letter of recommendation, and other materials. She connected me to Professor Seung Kyoon Shin from URI's College of Business to help me gain an affiliation with a South Korean ocean research institution. Finding an affiliate was the most nerve-wracking process of the application. Within a few weeks of the application due date, Professor Shin secured an affiliation with the Korea Institute of Ocean Science and Technology. Then, I submitted my application and waited.


In January 2021, while cycling at the gym, I was notified that I was selected as a semi-finalist. What a shock that was! Then I had to wait longer. And longer. And longer until I found out that I was selected as a finalist end of March. Double shock. Tears streaming down my face in relief. I called Dr. Mendenhall first to notify her of the news and then my friends and family. After several fellowship rejections over the past two years, I could not believe I was a Fulbright grantee. My hard work and dedication paid off. I also got to have a cute article on the URI website with Dr. Mendenhall.


After accepting the award, more waiting was to come. The award letters, grant information, terms and conditions, required medical forms, and flight information slowly rolled through my email inbox. By July, my flight was booked to Korea on Korean Air. A dream come true. I have always wanted to fly Korean Air. I've heard so much about the food, the seats, and the flight attendants.


I left for Korea on August 16th and arrived at Incheon Aiport on August 17th at 5:00 am. Little did I know I had a long day ahead of me. Upon arrival, I had to go through the quarantine information line where I submitted my PCR COVID test results and contact information for the government to track me and my symptoms. Then, I went through passport control with my new fancy semi-diplomatic visa. After picking up my luggage, I was guided to a waiting area with many conscripted police officers waiting around to lead arrivee's to a shuttle to take them to a designated hotel to get tested once more.


After a quick shuttle ride, I arrived at a testing facility to receive a second COVID test. Korea's COVID testing is some sort of torture. They swabbed my throat and brain. After the test (around 8:00 am), they sent me up to a private hotel room with breakfast to wait for the results that would arrive by 6:00 pm. While waiting, I took the best shower of my life and ate my "breakfast." My breakfast consisted of a "vegetable burger," which was basically lettuce, tomato, cucumber, and un-sweetened whip cream disguised as mayo, and a Hawaiian sweet bun. A great reunion to the Western-Korean cuisine. Fortunately, at 12:00 pm, there was a knock at my door for my second meal, Korean-style curry. It was a lot better than the first. Keep in mind, this is all provided by the Korean government. The U.S. has nothing on South Korea's control over COVID.


At 6:00 pm, I got my call that I was free to go, and I was exempted from quarantine because of my fancy semi-diplomatic visa. I was sent back on a shuttle to be taken to a bus station - in the rain - where I took a taxi to my temporary residence. By the time I got my taxi, my suitcase and socks were soaked. And, once I got to my residence, I quickly figured out that I had to lug two wet 50 lbs suitcases up four slippery floors in the dark. Great. And even more great, my keycode to the apartment did not work. After some struggle, I was able to get into my tiny one-room studio and unpack.


House in the neighborhood

My room is in Michulhol-gu, Incheon. Inha University is nearby, and there are lots of small shops and restaurants serving the student community. I have boba, ddukbokki, kalguksu, bossam, fried chicken, weird Korean pizza, and so on. There are many things to do, eat and see.


I'll be here for two weeks before I am off to Busan. In the meantime, I am getting to know the folks in my cohort, visit old friends from college and study abroad, and practice my awkward Korean


A park in Incheon

Now, how do you end a blog post? Maybe with a goal by the next post? I will contact most of my master's research participants by my next post and schedule in-person meetings with them!


PS, Grammarly is telling me that my tone is nervous. I think they have the right idea. Haha.




164 views3 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page